HARRIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT #4 HUFFMAN, TEXAS 77336

Minutes of February 25, 2021

Those commissioners present were Ken Gregory, Leslie Deen, Ray Jones, Christy Graves and Shareen Redus, constituting a quorum. Others in attendance when the meeting began were District Bookkeeper Adam Charanza of Municipal Accounts & Consulting, LLP; District Counsel Adam Tabak of Coveler & Peeler, P.C; and, EMS Director Kacey Sammons and District Administrator Jenelle Honey.

The District considered and acted upon the following matters:

- 1. Ray Jones called meeting to order at 3:01 pm.
- 2. Quorum established by President Ray Jones with all present.
- 3. No public comment.
- 4. President Ray Jones contacted Dell regarding 4 new PCs for lease with 24/7 service agreement at a cost ranging between \$130-\$175 per month. The proposal includes the backup of all software to the cloud. Cloud access will be available from other personal computers with encryption and HIPA compliant software. Current price for a new desktop is \$1700. After a discussion, Commissioner Jones said he will come back with the actual written proposals.

Item 5 & 6 to be considered last.

7. Motion by Shareen Redus, seconded by Leslie Deen, to implement a 6% pay raise for all EMS employees, excluding command staff, to be effective immediately. Motion approved unanimously.

Motion by Shareen Redus, seconded by Leslie Deen, to implement a 3% pay raise for EMS Director and Fire Chief, and effective immediately. Motion approved unanimously.

Motion by Ray Jones, seconded by Ken Gregory, to implement merit-based raises as proposed by Fire Chief Tyler Shirley and effective immediately. Motion approved unanimously.

- 6. Met in closed session at 4:00 pm regarding a fire department employee, Richard Hancock, who also came into meeting at that time. Out of executive session at 4:45 pm.
- 7. Motion by Ray Jones, seconded by Shareen Redus, to approve Fire Chief Shirley's recommendation that Richard Hancock be demoted to Captain from Asst. Fire Chief. Motion approved unanimously.
- 8. Ray Jones made motion, seconded by Shareen Redus, to adjourn at 4:55 pm with motion approved unanimously.

Leslie Deen, ESD Secretary

Leslie Deen